Saturday, 16 Dec 2017

Classical music concert with TANA String Quartet in Vietnam

Updated at Wednesday, 12 Apr 2017, 16:22
The Hanoitimes - TANA String Quartet from France will make their Hanoi debut with the world premiere of Phong Vu (Dance of Wind), a composition by noted Vietnamese-French composer Ton That Tiet, on April 13 at the French cultural centre L’Espace.
TANA String Quartet.
TANA String Quartet.
During their only one-night concert in Hanoi, the quartet will perform both classical and contemporary music. Alongside compositions by Tiet, the quartet will perform the String Quartet No 3 “Shadows” by Yann Robin, and the String Quartet in G minor, op. 10 by Claude Debussy.
Consisting of Antoine Maisonhaute and Ivan Lebrun on violin, Maxime Desert on viola, and Jeanne Maisonhaute on cello, the quartet was formed to promote contemporary repertoire and enhance the relationship between composers and performers.
The Tana String Quartet was formed in 2010 to promote contemporary repertoire and enhance the relationship between composer and performer. They place no boundaries when selecting style or genre and often present classical repertoire alongside contemporary works. The quartet won the Union of Belgian Composers’ Fuga Prix, the Octave De La Musique Awards for contemporary music, among other awards.
The Tana String Quartet has appeared at prestigious festivals and concert series worldwide including Aix-en-Provence, Berlioz, MUSICA à Strasbourg, La Folle Journée, Saint-Denis, Albi, IRCAM/Manifeste, Musiques du GMEM, Controtempo, Verbier, Ars Musica, Klara, Darmstadt...
In 2015/2016 the Quartet make their debut appearances at the Philharmonie de Paris and Concertgebouw in Bruges with the premiere of Yann Robin’s Quartet No 3, which they will also perform at the Konzerthaus in Vienna, together with Hector Parra’s new piece.
Tana is the only European ensemble to have discarded conventional scores to perform from iPads, which they also use to accompany their educational work. A privileged partner with Music Research Centres including: Centre Henri Pousseur in Liège, Belgium; GMEM in Marseille and ArtZoyd in Valenciennes, France, the quartet gave the first ever concert on hybrid instruments, premiering a piece by Peruvian composer Juan Gonzalo Arroyo. The new system is a major contribution to electronic music.
On April 14, the quartet will perform in HCMC at IDECAF, 31 Thai Van Lung Street, District 1.
Translated by Ha Phuong
Print pageSend to friend Share on facebook  Share on twitterCommentView comment
Thiết kế web: OnIP™