Wednesday, 22 Nov 2017

Vietnam to attend meeting of G20 foreign ministers

Updated at Thursday, 16 Feb 2017, 11:06
The Hanoitimes - Deputy PM, FM Pham Binh Minh will attend the meeting of the G20 foreign ministers in Germany’s Bonn city on February 16-17.

This is the first time the host of APEC Year, which is not a member of G20, is invited to attend the event.

The participation in the meeting is aimed at affirming Vietnam’s active and dynamic international and multi-lateral guidelines and manifesting the role of the host of APEC 2017 in cooperation and connection in the Asia-Pacific region and promoting priorities of Vietnam in the APEC Year 2017.

The event will focus on discussing three main issues, including the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, maintaining peace in a complex world, and cooperation with Africa.

Ministers will discuss measures to enhance the maintenance of peace into specific activities, increase the role and capacity of the United Nations in establishing peace and prevent conflicts as well as soon realize potential crisis and prevent crisis.

The topic and contents of the G20 meeting are much similar to priorities of Vietnam and APEC in the APEC Year as well as head to promote sustainable and overall growth and creativity, boost up economic, trade and investment connections, encourage renovation and creation and cooperate in responding to climate change, said Vietnamese Ambassador to Germany Doan Xuan Hung.

This is the foundation and opportunity to accelerate the connection of agenda focuses of APEC and G20 with the aim of strengthening regional and global coordination in addressing the global economic issues in the new context.

The G20 was founded in 1999 with the aim of studying, reviewing, and promoting high-level discussion of policy issues pertaining to the promotion of international financial stability.

The members include 19 individual countries Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the United Kingdom and United States—along with the European Union (EU).
By Anh Kiet
Print pageSend to friend Share on facebook  Share on twitterCommentView comment
Thiết kế web: OnIP™