Sunday, 17 Dec 2017

National Tourism Year 2017 to open in Lao Cai this weekend

Updated at Friday, 10 Feb 2017, 15:39
The Hanoitimes - The opening ceremony of the National Tourism Year 2017, themed "Northwest Colours", will take place in Lao Cai city in the northern mountainous province of Lao Cai on February 11, according to the organising board.
The opening ceremony of the National Tourism Year 2017 will be held in Lao Cai city on February 11.
The opening ceremony of National Tourism Year 2017 will be held in Lao Cai city on February 11.
The National Tourism Year 2017 will be hosted by the northern mountainous province of Lao Cai in co-ordination with eight Northwestern provinces - Yen Bai, Phu Tho, Hoa Binh, Son La, Lai Chau, Dien Bien, and Ha Giang - as well as other cities and provinces across the country including Hanoi, Quang Ninh, Hue, Da Nang, Can Tho and HCM City.
The host of National Tourism Year 2017 is expected to contribute to raising the awareness of all levels, sectors and the local people on the tourism development attached to tourism resources protection, represent important role of tourism in the socio-economic development in the northwest region in general and Lao Cai province in particular.
At Sa Pa in Lao Cai province.
At Sa Pa in Lao Cai province.
According to the provincial Department of Culture, Sports and Tourism, Lao Cai has coordinated with other regional localities to prepare, with the focus on developing tourist products in the northwest region.
There will be 42 events during the National Tourism Year 2017, including 22 cultural, sport and tourism events, eight tourism promotion activities, and four international co-operation events.
Lao Cai will hold many other special activities this year such as a workshop on Vietnam-China tourism development cooperation, International Race through the mountains in Sapa - VMM 2017 and the ”Horse Hooves” Programme in Bac Ha White Plateau.
Besides, the province will introduce community tours to ethnic groups in the northwest; tours to terraced rice fields and markets on the mountains; cruises along the Red River to pagodas and temples in Lao Cai, Yen Bai and Phu Tho provinces; and cruises along Da River through Hoa  Binh, Son La, Dien Bien and Lai Chau.
Lao Cai aims to welcome over 3 million tourists, of which about 1 million international travellers in 2017.
The Northwest region is home to more than 30 ethnic groups, a slew of tangible and intangible cultural heritages, famous historical sites and imposing landscapes.
The region has 12 areas earmarked for development under the national strategy on tourism development in the period through 2020, including the Dong Van Karst Plateau, Ban Gioc Falls, Mau Son Mountain, Ba Be Lake, Tan Trao, Dien Bien and Hoa Binh Reservoir.
Four national tourist attractions that feature in the strategy are Lao Cai city (Lao Cai province), Pac Po historical site (Cao Bang province), Lang Son city (Lang Son province), and Mai Chau district (Hoa Binh province).
The northwest region comprises eight provinces, namely Dien Bien, Ha Giang, Lao Cai, Yen Bai, Hoa Binh, Lai Chau, Son La and Phu Tho.
Translated by Thu Minh
Source: Ho
Print pageSend to friend Share on facebook  Share on twitterCommentView comment
Vieng Market Festival (05 Feb 2017)
Thiết kế web: OnIP™